Report an accessibility problem
Buseck Center for Meteorite Studies

Student opportunities

ASU School of Earth and Exploration Graduate Student Scholarships and Awards

ASU School of Earth and Exploration Undergraduate Student Scholarships and Awards

Internships and Fellowships for Planetary Science Students

In 1965, Dr. H.H. Nininger and Mrs. Addie D. Nininger endowed the Nininger Science of Meteoritics Fund to the Center for Meteorite Studies at Arizona State University in order to promote interest in meteorite-related topics among young scientists. The Fund supports the Nininger Meteorite Award, which recognizes outstanding student achievement in the “Science of Meteoritics” as embodied by an original research paper. Past recipients include Harry Y. McSween (University of Tennessee), Edward Stolper (California Institute of Technology) and the recipients of the 2010 Barringer Award (William K. Hartmann, Planetary Science Institute), 2002 Nier Prize (Dante Lauretta, University of Arizona), and 2005 Leonard Medal (Joseph Goldstein, University of Massachusetts, Amherst).
The goal of this award is to support travel to the annual Lunar and Planetary Science Conference (LPSC) of up to 4 School of Earth and Space Exploration (SESE) undergraduate and graduate students to present their latest results. The scope of the work to be presented must be in the field of meteoritics and planetary sciences. Each award will be in the amount of $1000.